Trees, Ting… And Tinkerbell!

_MG_4936

I quite like trees. We don’t actually have that many in our garden, there’s four miserable looking leyllandii, that my partner insists are his topiary project, which to me just smell of cat pee… We have an apple tree that he grew from a pip, which obligingly puts forth a fantastic display of beautiful, delicate blossom every year and produces apples as hard as bullets and that are the sourest thing that Mother Nature has ever made.

We have a lemon tree, lovingly grown by my partner from a pip. (But we won’t talk about that…) My son likes trees and has spent a lot of time photographing them, drawing them and painting them.

IMG_6522

But none of the trees in my garden are particularly large. Our house has a park adjoining our garden, and right next to our boundary fence, we have two large trees, I think they’re ash trees. They make a mess, anyway, dropping dead leaves into the garden, the sticky bud cases get in between the cats’ toes and only the most determined plants will grow in their shade.

However, they can come in useful, I suppose. The squirrel uses them as a quick getaway route, goldfinches and blue tits sit in them and pigeons fight in them. Ting likes to sit on the garden table and watch them.

_MG_4741

Now. Our neighbour has a cat. Nothing wrong with that at all, apart from the fact she’s a bit dim… the cat, not the neighbour that is. She’s a beautiful cat, a Chinchilla, but she just has no concept of boundaries, or personal space, or danger… The neighbour is forever retrieving her from under cars, other peoples’ houses and so on… The other day, the cat, Tinkerbell, thought she would investigate our garden. Luckily for her, my girls were having their afternoon siesta, as my partner – never one to resist a pretty face – made friends with Tinkerbell and accompanied her on a tour of our garden. Tinkerbell thought she would repeat the visit the other day… this time, however, Ting was awake. I never thought Ting was a particularly fierce cat – she tends to flirt with passing males:

IMG_6217

Ooh, you’re a big boy…” and apart from her sister, has little to do with the other girls. Well. She took one look at Tinkerbell and CHASED her… right out of the garden and straight up the larger of the two ash trays… trees… Freudian slip there.

Charlie told me what happened. Not that she’s a tell-tale, but she obviously witnessed the whole incident and as the responsible adult, felt she had to come and warn me. Ting sat at the foot of the tree:

Hi Mum, look! I’ve chased that funny coloured thing up the tree, let’s leave it there…”

Tinkerbell looked down at me miserably:

I only wanted to be FRIENDS! Where’s that nice man from the other day?!”

I went to fetch my partner. He looked at the tree and looked at the cat.

I’LL NEED MY LADDERS FOR THAT!” (He’s quite a small man, and it’s quite a large tree, and the cat was quite far up…)

I looked back at him impassively. Charlie and Ting looked at him. Tinkerbell chose that moment to change position and balance on one of the thinnest twigs…

He fetched his ladders. He wanted me to video his heroic rescue, but I felt I had to hold the ladders. Large tree… small bloke… wriggly cat… I managed one picture though, to show the neighbour. Although Ting suggested I make a ‘Wanted For Trespassing’ notice from it…

19576721_153227328565808_828368281_o

33 thoughts on “Trees, Ting… And Tinkerbell!

  1. Why is it that cats can shoot quite nimbly and ably up a tree in 0.5 seconds flat, but think they can never get back down again? Just leave ’em up there, I say, and they’ll eventually figure it out. (Don’t get me wrong –
    I adore cats.) BTW, my cousins used to have a Siamese cat named Tinkerbell!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Apparently, something to do with their claws and how their wrists swivel – servals can climb back down backwards, but cats have to come down headfirst. Charlie will get so far and then just launch herself at you, trusting you to catch her!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I quite understand where Ting is coming from…nobody should be wandering through the garden…that’s their place. Tinkerbell can wander through her own garden…if she doesn’t have one she needs to talk her peep into making one. Lots of work for her to do without setting paw on your property.

    Shoko

    Liked by 2 people

    1. There was a little dog in the front garden yesterday! It must have been chasing one of the cats and found its way in…it was terrified! I opened the gate and it just shot off…I think now summer is here my partner has some work to do, patching up the fence and filling in hedge gaps…😺💕xxx

      Like

  3. A classic cat up a tree story 🙂 Your partner sounds like a sweetheart. Mine would do the same, and I would definitely hold the ladder! I love the photos of Ting. Can’t get enough of those blue eyes…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

