“You Need Hands…”

2017-03-31 (2)

These lyrics fit quite nicely with the theme of this post, and although they were originally Eydie Gorme’s, I remember the Max Bygraves version very clearly… thanks Grandad…

Obviously in addition to hands, we have opposable thumbs, which are generally quite useful, although I still can’t open child-proof caps, and recently, while I was trying to take the cap off an ironically named safety razor, I sliced a perfect semicircle of flesh out of the tip of my thumb. Nothing happened for a moment, but then the blood began to flow and it REALLY hurt… it was on my right hand and it made life awkward for a couple of days as I couldn’t even hold a pen without crying… I’m not very good at pain!

HANDS 1 (2)My hands… clutching Charlie, enjoying a sneaky squish of soft fur before she woke up…

It’s only until you can’t use your hands that you appreciate just how much you really do need them. Animals like cats and dogs can be quite dextrous, using their front paws to grip and manipulate. I adore Charlie’s delicate little paws with her two distinctive ginger toes and pink paw pads – her others are brown. She can use her paws like hands to good effect and I remember being highly amused to see her box my son’s ears…

HANDS 2

I love the varying styles of hands that children draw – apparently hands are, in fact, one of the hardest things to draw – but children tend to draw giant appendages, attached directly to the body, or round circles, with five lines sticking out of them…

The prominence we give to hands in drawings and life even as children suggests they play a dominant role in how we perceive the world and people around us. Hands are one of the first things I look at… I appreciate well-kept hands. I used to bite my nails when I was younger, which made them look horrible; but then when I was thirteen, I started smoking… and stopped biting my nails. (Simple. Exchanging one bad habit for another can stop the previous – NO! Don’t do it!) However, my hands healed, and even though I haven’t smoked for seven months, I haven’t gone back to biting my nails…

As I said, hands are one of the first things I look at on a person – you can tell a lot about the person from how their hands look, and hands are one of the first things we present when meeting someone new… I can admire dainty hands and manicures on a woman, with wonderful shades of nail polish – I don’t myself, as having worked in the food industry, we were discouraged in case of “flaking”… – and I like well-kept hands on a man.

HANDS 4

There’s nothing “girly” about manicures, gentlemen, trust me! My personal preference is “artistic” type hands, long, elegant fingers and oval palms that hint at strength, yet sensitivity… I mentioned this personal preference to a friend and her response was interesting…

Ugh! Spidery hands! I like a man whose hands show they’ve done an honest day’s work!”

My younger son’s hands are a happy blend of mine and his father’s… his father’s rounded fingertips but the length of digit he inherited from me. He told me the other day that hands shaped like ours with a curved line between the bases of the fimgers and the top of the palm and ring and first fingers the same length are “psychic” hands… to which I replied

Ooh! Didn’t see that coming…!”

HANDS 5

 

 

65 thoughts on ““You Need Hands…”

      1. You are right about that! My sister had a cat that used to punch her in the face each morning–her paws were seriously arthritic–funny and sad, really–but the old kitty had to use the tools she had 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry for the delay in replying…obviously had to spend time -pawing/poring carefully over pictures…And yes. Oh yes. He definitely measures up… Readers, I TOTALLY recommend going to have a look at Linnet’s post, if you have read these comments.. 🙂 Actually, might just pop back there myself…

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh no, I will have that song on the brain all day now!! Hands definitely tell a lot. I have very definite preferences in the hand department! Also, a long time ago, a chap I was kind of seeing was trying to buy me a pair of ski gloves for Christmas. I have rather small hands, and as he was describing what he needed for his ‘girlfriend’ (snort) the shop assistant was apparently getting more and more curt. He kept on asking for smaller sizes and she kept on asking if they were definitely for a girlfriend. Eventually he made his choice and she hissed ‘are you sure?’ He asked why she was so hostile and she told him they were for a 6-8 year old… He thought he was going to be reported to the police. They fitted fine though!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha!! Oh dear! Great story! At least he returned triumphant with gloves! My partner wanted to surprise me with a ring and didn’t know my size…he cunningly used a jubilee clip to measure my finger (I must have been either asleep or fell for the “Oh stick your finger in there” routine ) and he reported back he had some very funny looks at the jewellers!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have my Dad’s hands: short-fingered, wide, strong hands. Despite that, I’m quite crafty with my hands. I have many little nick and cut scars on my fingers as sometimes dexterity fails while strength prevails…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL…yes, I am guilty of using hammers, knives and door frames to open stubborn jars…I was trying to open a bottle of cough medicine for my son on the bus the other day. He couldn’t shift it, neither could I and I was just so enraged…That rage gave me added power and that bottle was opened. Oh yes. 🙂 xox

      Like

  3. Hands are one of the first things I notice about people. I’m especially drawn to competent-looking hands. (Richard Dean Anderson, the original MacGyver, has what I consider to be perfect hands.) Strangely, losing the use of mine is the only real fear I have.

    Great post, Samantha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You made me cringe when I read the razor incident! You also had me looking at my hands and checking out the palms and lines! I have no idea what my hands say about me though.
    Love the photos of the cats and I well remember our cat (when I was a kid) boxing us with her quick little paws.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha, I suppose it’s a good thing I’ve never heard the song before, or I’ll have the song running in my head for the rest of the day. 😛

    And I agree with the importance of hands; I don’t know what I’d do without mine, because they’re the main reason I can enjoy most of my hobbies! I looked at my fingers when you mentioned the same index and ring finger lengths, and they do have the same length! But I’m not really psychic. 😅

    Being Chinese, I was interested in palmistry for a while, though the only thing I remember now is the life line, which is the curved line that starts between the thumb and index finger, and curves down to the wrist. The longer it is, the longer life one has. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL…listen to the song..I dare you! And yes, we do so many things with our hands and when you consider sign language too, they are truly a gift 🙂
      Yes, I’ve looked at palmistry-it’s quite interesting, although I always wonder what happens if you get a scar running through a really significant line…
      Thank you for your comment 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, sure, I’ll listen to the song when I’m home. 😛

        I found this page about scars on hands and their meanings: http://www.streetdirectory.com/etoday/scars-in-your-hands-what-do-they-mean-wcucep.html
        I have a 17-year-old scar and a stubborn 5-year-old wart on my right index finger, which indicates a problem with power struggles, victim/abuser cycles, etc. That’s pretty accurate for me, considering at times I felt powerless to change the circumstances happening to me. Things are much better for me now, but I still have them so I guess I haven’t really gotten over them? It’s really interesting how that works. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Also meant to say (Dog jumped on me and distracted me) that I am pleased things are getting better for you-you have taken charge of them and that is SUCH a positive thing to do 🙂
        The fact that the scar and the wart remain is almost a reminder to you, maybe of what you’ve come through and how it has affected your life. You could try applying apple cider vinegar to the wart though, that might shift it..:) x

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thanks for the kind words! I did several rounds of apple cider vinegar on the wart, but each time I thought I was done, it came back. 😅
        But I know it works because I’ve gotten rid of one before. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh, sorry, for some reason I thought of those bottled extract thing. It shows how much of a city girl I am. 😛

        I don’t remember seeing any dandelions here, so now I have one more reason to pay attention to nature! 🌳🎍🌸 Thanks for the tip. ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Gosh that’s so true Samantha.. we really do take our hands and bodies in general for granted.. and you’re right, children do always draw hands large don’t they.. Yikes – even a paper cut on a finger can be debilitating for a few days and certainly makes us ‘aware’ of how important and precious they are! x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I like hands (and paws). Yours look very clean and peaceful (mine are usually covered in small scratches and bruises, with the nails clipped short – I used to climb a lot and it shows). Somehow, your hands look as I would imagine they do 😉
    Knitting helps with overly active hands (I have some solution to each overly active body part, I think) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh no, just read the ‘scar location’ link.
    It indicates I’m angry, frustrated and desire money.
    I’m the least money-greedy person on Earth so it is wrong (I desire power instead) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. haha, maybe you’re immortal?
        well, to be honest, my scars are not real scars, more scratches and bruises -at least I think so, I don’t remember my hands in their fully healed state…

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Very ironic – you wrote this in earl April, but I’m reading it the day after carpal tunnel surgery. My left hand is bandaged like a mummy. Not attractive and not functional. The cats are not impressed

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

