Blogs, Birthdays And Blues…

1 YEARRY (2)

Well! Who would have thought it! As an additional Mother’s Day gift, I received this notification last week – the header photo, saying that I have been blogging for a whole year… I also got perfume – I love perfume, crystals, of course, and cat-related objects, naturally…

My little blog that started at my son’s suggestion has survived a year… I’ve posted regularly (never thought I had so much to talk about really) and I have met some truly WONDERFUL people, real friends who would be welcome for a cup of tea at my house… not the sort of people where when you see them coming you switch the lights off, draw the curtains and lie on the floor behind the sofa… just me on that one then..?

I have enjoyed the reading of blogs, the new knowledge and shared experiences and talking, really talking. In “real time” I am actually quite shy… at your average socila gathering, I would be the person sitting in a corner by themselves, trying to look interesting and aloof but really dying inside…

All I had to do was talk, even if it was something totally banal, just to break the ice. I always feel bad for someone if they are giving a talk or a lecture , and ask at the end “Any questions?” usually to a deathly silence… I generally blurt out something completely stupid and unrelated like “Do you like ice cream?”

One of my Mother’s Day presents was this… blue Goldstone. A man-made crystal of glass with tiny flecks of copper suspended within that create the sparkle. Opinion is divided as to whether it has any actual metaphysical benefit, but it is reputed to be protective and uplifting, shielding psychics from empathetic residue and bringing vitality to speech. I like it… it’s pretty, and sparkly and I’ve been told it’s always good to work with colours.

BLUE

And this is Angelite, a stone of awareness that links, as its name would suggest, to the higher realms, and enables you to speak freely and with love.

BLUE 3

All blue crystals are generally associated with the throat chakra, and with that in mind, promote communication.

BLUE 2

So then, as I think about my own blog’s birthday, I inevitably consider my own… notorious for being horrible occasions – I was homeless on my 21st. The actual day is not until July and I am now at that stage of my life where I have lived the Maiden years, nearly completed my Mother years and am approaching the Crone years… Silence at the back there!

BLUE 4

This essentially means I should be able to look back on my decades of accumulated wisdom and share little gems of my own… I would start by saying talk more. I wish I’d talked more, shared worries and asked for help… My oldest son has made some life choices that I am diametrically opposed to… I do wish we could have talked more – they are his choices to make, granted, but at least I could have offered him an alternative opinion… so talk.

Even silences can be “speaking”… and sometimes that’s all it takes…

Hey! Hey! Do you like ice cream…?

BLUE 5

121 thoughts on “Blogs, Birthdays And Blues…

  1. Congratulations dear Samantha, this is one of beautiful things for me to meet with you in this blogging world. You are very special lady, Happy Blogging and long and enjoyable years too. Thank you, Love & Hugs, nia

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy blogoversary Samantha! A big thank you to your son as well for encouraging you to blog and sharing his beautiful photographs. It has been so lovely to meet you and the cats here and we wish you many more years of happy blogging!☺💖 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on your Blog Anniversary. Well done! 🙂
    I was surprised reading about your shyness, as you seem so chatty here, but I totally get it. I am the same at large social events and would much rather be home with a good book!
    Your advice is good though; Talk! Communicate! Even asking if you like ice cream breaks the ice. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As a fellow introvert, I understand your preference for a cozy chat over a cup of tea instead of a party! Congratulations on your blogging milestone and birthday–I always enjoy your posts 🙂 I like the goldstone. I have a monstrous big ruby that was made in a lab, and I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Proper tea yes? Not that weird green stuff of one of those speciality burnt wood flavours. Congratulations on the blogiversary too. Not bad for an introvert 🙂 Although, not keen on labelling… crone years sounds terribly downhill. Best get that social media sorted before arthritis kicks in and you need HUGE glasses to read the screen with really big fonts…just saying…. live while we can kind of thing… which reminds…blog theme and publishing… obviously do as I say, not as I do 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. DEFINITELY proper tea..my younger son drinks the weird ones and I have taken it as a shopping challenge to return with at least one completely strange tea…so far, the best one has been popcorn tea-Twinings make their teabags out of real material and this flavour had puffed rice in it..!
      And thank you 🙂 I’m not quite Zimmer- worthy just yet…just in the last section of my Sacred Feminine years..lol…Give me a year on Twitter-you already got me on that!! ( I think I might make another year older…)
      And yes! Carpe Diem! Have you sorted it…you know..lead by example 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Excellent. Can’t abide dish water flavour… acquired taste indeed. Why would I want to drink rubbish until I liked it… makes no sense that! Never seen or heard of popcorn tea though. Sounds very Gordon Ramsey experimental.
        Less of this end of days thinking too; at least two more years wouldn’t go amiss surely. Just think of the new lease of life on multiple platforms. Excellent recourse of an introvert that 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes well, it smelt quite nice but I’m not a fan…after a terrible experience with jasmine tea in Chinatown I tend to stick to the “proper stuff” …
        And ok…I’ll do two and aim higher…the cat has an Instagram account after all.:)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. My mum once took an Earl Grey back to the vendor saying it was lemon dishwater and she wanted a refund 👀 one tried not to laugh too obviously! Mind you camomile tea is something I quite like as a soothing alternative to breakfast tea or Assam. Although venturing forth into more diverse brews has thus far failed to reach acquired taste specifications…one try and that will do for me!

        But your cat has Instagram? Why is it not following me lol what’s the next one for you? StumbleUpon, FB, Pinterest, linked in, Flipboard, Google Plus, joining the cat???

        Liked by 1 person

      4. LOl…I meant Lily and Marje…although I could have accounts for the other cats…but isn’t that mostly pictures? And I can’ t take decent pictures on my phone. There’s an escaped guinea fowl roaming the area…I appear to be the only one that sees it and the one time I got close enough to get photographic evidence it just looked like a dot.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. ohhh, but now you make me think your other cats could be suffering from psychological distress at not keeping up in the modern social world of Intsatcats. Although that sounds like a kids TV show! See…IPhones take ace pictures lol. Now, one has to ponder the last bit… you are the only one that can see it (guinea fowl)… there is a more logical conclusion involving hallucination or ghostly apparitions intending on driving you insane…

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I am now being ignored by Charlie…she has discovered that Lily has Instacat with Marje and doesn’t see why see can’t have her own account…STOP IT! Honestly…although I must say Instagram looks like it could be quite fun…I could take pictures of biscuits..and tea..and cake..Yes, think my son has to get his HueyLouie (whatever) phone and I can have a go..

        Liked by 1 person

      7. You see, trouble by not embracing this social media with gusto. Being left out is a terrible thing and it sounds like Lily is most rebuffed indeed. Instagram I’m also on, but not added much content yet. Another bit in the review chain lol. It looks a great place to procrastinate though 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Obviousky I do, that would be another place to pass the doing time with more banter about all the other things we should be doing! Put something on you say? Are you suggesting I got up and forgot to dress??? Dear me….unless…for you…that is entirely normal 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      9. I don’t live in a warm enough part of the country to even remotely consider nudism …or is it naturism..far too cold to go sky-clad and would you be shocked if I…if I…confessedtowearingmydressinggownduringtheday..Ok. Instagram then…could be good for a procrastinate/laugh…!!

        Liked by 1 person

      10. I’ve heard many a witch secretly going witchy because of said nocturnal dancing. Obviousky I now view such folk with a knowing chuckle…although if you do, then kudos because I did indeed think you an introvert! Oh…you meant dressing gown not….moving on….yes Instagram…although I’ve not really worked it out properly yet 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      11. I think I definitely need a new phone to do Instagram – I’m still learning the tech side of things as well, and I can’ t be doing with faffing about with a camera..
        As for nudism/naturism..I will…take off….my shoes!

        Liked by 1 person

      12. iPhone 6 would be a good compromise…although your cat and crystal photos seem quite impressive. I assume they are put into posts via a none phone machine that could easily log into Instagram for adding photos yes? I suggest no shoeless selfies though…it will go downhill most swiftly !

        Liked by 1 person

      13. My feet are quite respectable! I do have a burn scar on one where I dropped a red hot tea bag..yes, the Iphone 6 seems reasonable, the lady in Carphone W’house quoted about £200 handset only.
        My son takes the photos on his Canon camera, then loads them onto a memory stick…so would need expandable memory…

        Like

      14. One did not mean to suggest they were not respectable…and battle scared via tea bags seems valid enough…as long as it is non weird variety of course! Ah, USB stitched are pretty easy to shift data to and from. Instagram on all your devices should cover every photo shoot…camera or phone surely 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      15. Ha ha ha-I know! In a macrame book I saw barefoot sandals…???…basically just macrame wrapped round your toe and no use whatsoever…I was drinking tea made from round teabags at the time and it dropped splat perfectly circular on my foot. Didn’t half hurt…
        I seem to have cloud storage or something like that…getting the hang of attaching photos on Tweets but need more power!

        Liked by 1 person

      16. Barefoot sandals is heading rapidly toward oxymoron! And…you actually tried them out and this is where tea damage occurred…I am proper struggling not to write a comedic short story from this most excellent writing prompt 😊
        When you say power…you mean a more techno machine that works faster with no lag for all these media ventures right?

        Liked by 1 person

      17. Well, I have spent my time relatively constructively in researching the pros and cons of a new phone…budget wise an iPhone is just impractical. The Whahey seems to be the best option…nice and powerful with a good camera too. I just have to learn how to spell it but I think I might go and get one today…this phone is driving me NUTS!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      18. Very impressive and well thought out procrastination indeed. And if you go out to get one…that’s coffee shops, sunshine…avoiding writing….housework…go for it lol

        Liked by 1 person

      19. Back on the laptop temporarily and I find myself looking for the little emojis…but I was quite envious of all the little pictures when all I could manage was a colon and a bracket…now when I’ve used my conversational budget for the day I can just use pictures!

        Liked by 1 person

      20. Just think…using pictures is a couple of clicks…typing is quite a few…not planet saving this time, but hand joint saving and repetitive strain avoidance. Add that to the previous green policy we discussed and it’s win win. Feet up, sun, point click..upload Instagram and dunk that biscuit!

        Liked by 1 person

      21. Why thank you indeed. I must create a portfolio post haste. Especially now there is a new day full of potential doing that requires advanced green energy policies to ensure nothing rash happens 👀

        Liked by 1 person

      22. Ooh, thank you lol. But quite right…supervising from the garden supping a pims is altogether perfect for a writer…just drift off into Fantasia plotting…now..just got to get my garden sorted first!

        Liked by 1 person

      23. Ah, you raise a reminder point. I need to replace my hanging basket hanger! Another useful avoidance task 😊 Fresh runner beans my kids will eat, frozen supermarket ones they won’t…and I’m fed up with brocolli and cauliflower lol

        Liked by 1 person

      24. Spinach is the way forward…trust me…and my boys always fell for the tiny cabbages and little trees trick…🌴🌴 ( ha ha! I keep finding all these wonderful pictures!! Imagine…a whole post written in emojis…21st century hieroglyphics!!)

        Liked by 1 person

      25. Really…iron rich food yes? Never quite found my bond with spinach though. Be intersting to try a short emoji only post though. I wonder if it could be done properly 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      26. Spinach is good for you…(was just looking for emoji to fit but no luck)
        Might have to provide a key but I think it’s do-able…you have created a new blog challenge AND
        You’ve changed your picture! 🏆👏😊

        Liked by 1 person

      27. Yes, I’ve heard that rumour…but I am stuck with Popeye… Not a key…call it the Blogsetta stone 😊 Yes, picture thingy is part of the blog rebuild wrt publishers poking about. I got a follow from one today that published a friends book that’s being spotlighted next week. 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      28. Well, slowly getting there. Can’t rush too fast. Thing with Niki is, from her blog you’d never really know. But to put it all in a book for everyone to see is very brave as you say. I feel I should be doing more now!! 🛋🖼🎈

        Liked by 1 person

      29. Mental health issues have been dismissed for too long really without acknowledging the impact they have on the lives of those who suffer from depression etc.
        And from your emojis I deduce you have been sitting on the sofa…looking at pictures…and blowing up balloons. Yes?

        Liked by 1 person

      30. That they have and its created a culture of people too afraid to come forward and get help. Turns an isolating experience into something even worse.
        Close…sofa yes, picture yes…balloons, red, horror…IT trailer…. Now adding 👻😱💀🎈

        Like

      31. On laptop…no emojis…horror! Clowns terrify me…my mother bought me a clown doll when I was little – thanks Mum – and I was convinced it came alive at night…
        And also…sometimes there are people who don’t even know they are ill, which is sad.

        Liked by 1 person

      32. Oh dear, now you are almost a true Apple officianado….won’t be long before they get you with the emojo curse upon all devices! Or…maybe there is a keyboard emojo upgrade 🤔
        I know, you are so right there…it’s sad because they struggle to hold a rational conversation and insist it’s you that’s wrong not them (I know one unfortunately). They can become quite toxic and it’s very sad 🤕

        Liked by 1 person

      33. I rather think you are displaying the traits of a young child opening an uber present! Exitement abounds. I suggest you exile guilt and enjoy the moment…it is justifiable procrastinating at its very best 😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

      34. Looking through a camera taking a picture of cake on your phone…oh I see you have connected with my fab witchy friend Traci…scary times ahead…eek…
        It is fab actually, and prices have dropped loads since they first came out. Not only does it burn fats and grease to powder, it heats the kitchen up nicely at the same time 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      35. Ha ha ha!! You were in the approximate ball park…I don’t have an emoji of an oven, so it was looking at pictures of ovens on my phone…( on laptop at the moment..) Yes, Traci is lovely 🙂 And…and…are YOU the Necromancer???You seem to be collecting witches!!! ( Imagine emoji of surprised face here…)
        Extremely tempted by ovens…:)

        Liked by 1 person

      36. I am when I become the protagonist to write I guess !! Um; he had a Witch Queen last time I walked out that way too come to think of it…well, not had as in..nudge nudge, wink wink…but as a puppet to control the masses while he/It attended…other business.

        So recommend pyro ovens for MH peace and inner calm. Switch on, garden..coffee….and breathe 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      37. One has to throw them out surely. Smiles and such like, I am told are good sources of PMA. As for ovens…if you really enjoy oven cleaning then an asset they would not be. My old one broke so one thought good time to become oven lazy. You on Instagram yet? With the new phone I’d have thought it was now a must have 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      38. I have some wonderful photos taken on the new love of my life which I fully intend to put on Instagram…at the moment though it’s that same wonderful combination of not enough hours…days…weeks..and I TOTALLY hate cleaning ovens.(on laptop, imagine an angry face emoji with a giant foot…)

        Liked by 1 person

      39. I feel your oven pain…I used to despise it with a passion bordering depression! The new one tells me when it needs doing so I use that flag as a combo to drop in a deep clean pack into the washing machine too! All very calm and peaceful like! I’m with you on time too. I have an ever growing to do list and just not making any inroads apart from adding to it. Very dispiriting indeed. This week I have one ambition however. The blasted blog theme. Kids go back Wednesday so D-Day is then…and yes…something is bound to run interference!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      40. I seem to recall you mentioning the theme about two weeks ago…loving the delicate by-play of introducing ovens too…but yes my son is back at college on Wednesday so it’s time to get a move on and get motivated! Might have a cup of tea first though…! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      41. I did, but half term appeared and I had a what if moment; I knew I had two spotlights scheduled. I wanted them out before I mucked everything up by changing the theme. I know its supposed to be straight forward, but my good fortune is cursed!! Schools back tomorrow here too…so… tea and chat before doing things lol

        Liked by 1 person

      42. You do know the acronym for that is most appropriate TOSH…well if you let “hop” pop in! Have you sent an email that never got a reply? I have glared at my incoming and just mass deleted and now I fear I may have lost one from you in the melee !

        Liked by 1 person

      43. No it’s all right- I’ve had one of those weeks that could have done with being stamped on with a giant Monty Python foot…details coming soon…so I’m still playing catch up at the moment…and I’ve just really annoyed myself all over again by remembering it’s still only WEDNESDAY!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      44. I had to ask as I rally did do Click, select all and trash !!! I’m not certain I even scanned them properly!! Seems we are week synched then. I’m miles behind too and seem to be in a rut; not good, not good at all!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      45. I check about 10…then bin them. I somehow managed to switch off email notification. But anyway….come on, best foot forward…(lol, not Monty Python style)you can extricate yourself from the rut and make up the time…here, have a totally random combination of a 💂 and a 🍪to cheer you up 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      46. Email notifications are accessed from the log out page. In fact you can control all aspects of them there. I may activate the theme and then go on the school run…maybe it will magically sort itself out and not muck up my actual posts. Once its up then motivation to tweak will be unavoidable!!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Anniversary…here’s to many more years! It’s been great having you as a blogosphere friend. I actually was just sharing my experiences with a student doing a project about blogging for journalism school. I told him one of the very best things about blogging is the wonderful people you get to ‘meet’ who live all over the world. I’m shy in person like you…so it’s great to be able to have this connection with like-minded people! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a wonderful way to meet people that ordinarily you (I) couldn’t…Thank you very much! It’s interesting to hear about the student…at my son’s interview they asked if he had a blog and they seem to be quite an important creative outlet now…
      But yes 🙂 it’s lovely to have you as a blogosphere friend too 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy Blogaversary!! I do love your blog, so keep going my Crystal hugging biscuit munching pal! Pistachio. Favourite ice cream flavour. Just thought I’d mention it….

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ah, thank you very much! 🙂 I’d like to try for another year…although I will give pistachio flavour ice cream a miss…I’ll keep a tub in the freezer though! I like the really good quality plain vanilla, closely followed by strawberry! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Who knows? In another year you could be blogging paper crafts and I could be discussing crystals! And yes, a decent vanilla is right up there, and strawberry too.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations! Your blog is one year old. It’s such a cute age — toddling on its own, but too young to give you any sass! (Mine turns 1 tomorrow. Time just flies, doesn’t it? We should schedule a play date!)

    I’m really glad we’ve connected here, Samantha. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. First off…..Congratulations! And next I need to tell you ….you had me grinning like the Cheshire cat so often during reading this post. I can just see you turning off the lights and laying down behind the couch LOL. And the asking an awkward question to fill the deathly silence….I can so relate to that. I always thing it is somehow my “job” to fill those awkward silences.
    Oh…..basic vanilla ice cream with Reeses Peanut Butter cups chopped up into it. Mmmmmmmm

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t like peanut butter, but Reeses are actually really nice..I shall have to try your method!
      And yes…I don’t know what it is but I feel that “gaps” like that need something, anything to break the silence…I also do the pretend call on my phone if I see someone I don’t want to talk to either..oh dear!!
      Thank you very much 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Happy blog anniversary, Samantha! I get that “need” of filling awkward silence with anything, and sitting at the corner of parties and pretending to look interested. 😆

    I love those crystals! The blue Goldstone looks like a starry night sky, and the Angelite’s blue is so gentle. 😀

    Oh, and I love ice cream too! 🍨🍨🍨

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Congratulations! I love reading your posts and I’d never imagine you’re shy. I actually like the more personal posts best, probably because they give me the feeling of knowing you, just like any other friend I have.
    Your posts always make me smile, laugh and think (most of them at the same time) so I’m extremely grateful you write them 🙂
    I always have questions after a lecture, I’m quite annoying actually-but I genuinely want to know stuff. And because I was a lecturer myself for most of my life I always encourage people to question me (‘I don’t want you to think like me, I just want you to think’ is my favourite saying). ‘Do you like ice cream’? is a perfectly valid question-I wish any of my students had asked me that 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much 🙂
      Circumstances have dictated that I can’t really afford to be shy, so people are often surprised by that..!
      And I’m glad that you like the more personal posts too, I know what you mean, it’s all part of the friendship process, the exchange of information 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

