Lapis Lazuli And Loving Cats

lapis-3

This is a beautiful crystal, with benefits and qualities rooted in the mists of time, where people saw its sky blue colour and used this crystal ground up as a paint to try and capture the heavens…

In powder form, it was also used by Cleopatra, amongst others, as an eyeshadow and ornamentation as a crystal in jewellery and statuary.

Lapis Lazuli’s spiritual qualities are as beautiful and as varied as the stone itself… it is highly protective, and as with most blue crystals, balances the throat chakra and helps with communication, both with other people and also becoming aware of your own “inner voice” and listening to it.

lapis-1

Its soaring azure colours, reminiscent of the sky, perhaps illustrates the fact that this crystal encourages you to rise above the boundaries of your physical self, facilitating spiritual journeying. Lapis Lazuli is a wonderful crystal to release stress and lift depression, bringing harmony and balance.

Like a clear summer sky, Lapis Lazuli will also amplify thought – by this I mean clarity. It brings clarity, disposing of woolly, outdated thought patterns that are of no benefit.

A loving and caring crystal – another strongly protective one too – Lapis Lazuli strengthens the relationships and friendships we nurture, allowing feelings to be freely expressed.

lapis-2

I know my cats love me – as Mummy and not just because of my useful opposable thumbs – yet having four, it’s wonderful to see the varying ways in which they express this human quality of love.

Charlie, as befits a lady and a princess, is quite reserved, and I do indeed feel quite honoured when she chooses to sit on my knee and purr, kneading her little paws in a frenzy of:

Oh yes, I’d forgotten, you’re quite nice really…”

lapis-5

Lily has a sweet, trilling meow to signal that she would like some attention, subtly different from the:

Here, look, I’m spoiling you, another mouse…” call. She will butt her small but surprisingly hard head against your hand and gaze deeply and meaningfully into your eyes … When I go to check my son is asleep, she will be there, curled up against him in an indistinguishable ball of black fluff…

lapis-9

Tooty loves to cuddle and will curl up near you, purring mightily… she has a habit of checking if you are available to give out strokes when you are sleeping… there’s been a few times when I’ve been awoken by a cold nose pressed enquiringly against my cheek and catfood breath …

Hi! Are we awake? Tummy tickles?”

lapis-8

Ting is definitely the most demonstrative cat … when I come in, she will collapse at my feet and rub her head on them, purring in a total ecstasy of love and happiness…

Currr-AH…Currr-AH – so happy! You’re home…you’ve been gone AGES…”

clutching my hand between her front paws – no claws – to rub her cold, wet nose on it.

lapis-7

Cats are traditionally supposed to be cold and stand-offish… not my four girls! Although they each have very different ways of showing it, I am rewarded by their love and truly appreciate it.

What greater gift than the love of a cat?”

Charles Dickens

61 thoughts on “Lapis Lazuli And Loving Cats

  1. I guess the love of four cats would be the answer to Mr Dickens’s question?! I think any relationship with a cat is determined by us, how we behave. Dogs will love people no matter what, but cats reward our good behaviour!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree with Charles…There is no greater love than a cat’s love. They don’t just love anyone…they must trust you first. This is a big one with Shoko. Kali on the other paw, loves everybody.

    I never knew much about crystals until your blog and now I know a few interesting facts.

    Thanks Samantha.

    JeAN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a lovely feeling knowing (well hoping) that your cats love you! And they’re all so individual! Ting is very like Shoko in that she has to trust you first while Charlie can be a little… princess-y!

      Thank you for the compliment, I’m pleased you enjoy reading about the crystals I mention. I like to give little tasters, and if I can, personal experience, then people can go and have a look too 🙂 xxx

      Like

  3. Well there’s a thing. My exposure to lapis is Minecraft…kids and vast world’s filled with all kinds of red stone machines. Apparently you can mine the stuff…which…is nice if you want blue dyes… The stone proper is gorgeous though. Amplifying thoughts though…not sure I need my thoughts on riting anxiety need amplifying just yet…I’ve just about drumme up the mojo to lead my book o conclusion. I’m expecting poor moral to follow as not everyone can make the end….counter measure antidote recommendations welcome!

    Lovely post as always too 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the compliment, pleased you enjoyed it 🙂

      What’s your word count just out of interest? I look at the numbers and just think “Well, is that Bible thickness! Penguin Classic? Or are we talking Mills & Boon…”

      Told you… you need some serious Amethyst in your life to absorb your unnecessary negativity and perhaps some Citrine to add a little sunshine ray of hope 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mention it not….I do try and pop over when time is kind, which it hasn’t been of late and gone whoosh.
        I generally aim for between 60,000 and 80,000 words. Depends on the work. I feel this one will rest between these limits though.
        I think you may be right too. Negativity is becoming a most unwelcome guest of late !!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. January is my worst month for that very reason. At least in February the nights draw out, even if it is possibly the coldest one. But a plan, yes…might even be a cunning ond if it works lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Really? Not au fait with the despair squid responsible for Cats alter ego Dwain then? Mind you its probably dated now. Obviousky you will be familiar with…
        Galahad: Well, I could stay a bit longer.
        [Sir Lancelot crashes in, grabs Galahad and rushes out of the castle]
        Lancelot: We were in the nick of time. You were in great peril.
        Galahad: I don’t think I was.
        Lancelot: Yes, you were. You were in terrible peril.
        Galahad: Look, let me go back in there and face the peril.
        Lancelot: No, it’s far too perilous.
        Galahad: Look, it’s my duty as a knight to sample as much peril as I can.
        Lancelot: No, we’ve got to find the Holy Grail. Come on.
        Galahad: Oh, let me have just a little bit of peril?
        Lancelot: No. It’s unhealthy.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I always thought their films were better than the TV shows. Although it might be because they dated faster. The films, even now, are still very humerous and good for a remembrance chuckle 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Crumbs…relevant topics re immigration such as “But what have the Romans ever done for us?” And the vow of silence chap in the hole. “Get off my juniper bushes.” The list goes on !

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Lol, black comedy at its best…I rather think British comedy is often based on truth satire. It’s funny because it’s real….Yes Minister and farces such as Carry On films often draw on real issues and turn them into hyperbole. The underlying truth remains though….it’s why it’s funny I guess. Especially when the very people or organisations they take as source material don’t seem to get the point and laugh along as well 😱

        Like

  4. You’re all so cute, kitties. We love the different purrsonalities, Samantha and Tooty is also blessed with some hot lips…that’s soo adorable ❤ Lapis Lazuli, another favourite of Granny. Beautiful furriendship stone. Pawkisses for a Happy Monday 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Lapis Lazuli is beautiful! Deep blues are my favorite. Cats really are special. I have two boys who are from the same litter and there’s nothing better than feeling their little paws kneading (we call it making biscuits) on my lap and giving me lovey-eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

