Gotcha…

_mg_8505

I have previously mentioned my stray cat problem… however… this is no more. I would like to dedicate this post to the Cats’ Protection League and thank them for all the wonderful work they do.

Our most persistent stray, Boris, has a place! We had adjusted our home routine to keep our girls safe and stress-free, locking the cat flap and night time, giving plenty of love and attention and lashings of Feliway…

I made so many ‘phone calls, it was heart rending. I never truly realised the extent of the stray problem here until I started this, as every other stray cat we’ve helped we’ve been able to re-home privately.

Boris made it through December in a nest of pillows in the porch and had a plate of catfood left out for him morning and night. My girls didn’t like it. Not one little bit. However, they adapted and an uneasy truce was declared.

Then I got the ‘phone call. A place was available in the local shelter – could I catch Boris and bring him in? I was delighted…Boris vanished, unwilling to discuss the terms of his Pexit… (Porch Exit…)

img_4722

The next couple of nights were cold. There was a frost. With a heavy heart, the morning I was due to bring Boris in, I prepared to call the lovely lady to say that Boris had disappeared and the place would have to go to another cat. I opened the back door to let Charlie out and she hissed angrily. Boris was there!

He “meh”-ed quietly at me and looked hopeful. Quickly, I swept Charlie up and into the front room and emptied a sachet of catfood out for Boris. Now I faced a dilemma – he was accustomed to eating in the porch, having been chased indignantly out of the house by hissing, teeth clattering, paw stamping girl cats.

I placed the food on the doormat and retreated, waiting with bated breath. Boris approached, obviously very hungry, snatched a mouthful of food and went back outside. My heart sank. I was the only person in the house, apart from the cats, and it was beginning to seem that Boris was going to live up to his namesake and be … bumptious.

img_4725

He came back inside. Had another mouthful of food – and stayed on the mat. I lunged forwards and gently pushed the kitchen door shut. Boris gave me a suspicious look and returned to his food. The cat carrier was waiting, sprinkled with treats and Feliway.

Boris finished his food. Inwardly bracing myself for raked wrists and bitten fingers, I carefully bent down, prepared for the struggle and – PICKED BORIS UP.

He went happily into the cat carrier, turned round, then curled up and went to sleep. Weak with relief, I rang the lovely lady at the shelter to let her know we were on our way.

While we were in the taxi, Boris didn’t fuss, or meow or fight to get out of the carrier. Is it anthropomorphic of me to say he was ready to go and knew I was helping? When we got there, the lady explained how well Boris would be looked after, medical checks, neutering, a warm bed, food…

I saw his little tabby and white face disappear around the corner with a pang, but I know he’ll be happy and safe and make someone a wonderful pet.

Bon voyage Boris and good luck. Time to come in out of the cold now.

_mg_8502

61 thoughts on “Gotcha…

  1. Awww, what a lovely story. Good on you for helping wee Boris out. All the best to him. (And as it happened, before I read your post [I swear], I posted my own story – Part 1 – of the adventures of another stray cat. Great minds think alike?!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such happy news reading this and it looks as if Boris understood. He has such a kind face and will be a loyal friend for the people who adopt him. Great work Samantha and here’s to wishing sweet Boris a very happy life in his forever home :o) xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a handsome, wee boy! He deserves a loving, warm forever home. Pity it couldn’t be with you and your girls. He’d obviously chosen you all…. but I know all too well what it’s like to welcome an interloper into the royal family. Your kind heart has given him a great chance. I’m glad that you’ve been able to help him. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 🙂 I do have a fondness for tabbies as my previous cat, Walter, was a lovely old tabby man of 16 when he passed and now I have my little tiger princess 🙂 But I love all my girls..lol..how could I not! It just wouldn’t have been fair to Boris to make him one of five when he deserves his own loving home :)xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Whaddaya trying to do to me? I nearly cried! Mascara meltdown! You had me rooting for a Boris, something I would generally have thought unlikely to happen. He looks so like my mum’s cat – even the little patch of colouring on his front paw. Well done though. He will get a nice new home now. And I agree that he knew you were trying to help. They are smarter than we realise. I reckon he maybe had a mid-life crisis, ran away from home, had a bit of a wild time and then realised he preferred home comforts rather more. Yay for Cats’ Protection League.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, they’re brilliant aren’t they 🙂
      I don’t have any virtual tissues handy, I’m afraid…I have a bit of a cold and used them all earlier..I hope Boris realises I was helping, he’s a sweet little cat and will make a wonderful housecat for someone and have a happy, comfortable life :)xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s ok. Mascara drama was a while ago. I’m sure Boris knew you were helping. He could have scooted off very easily. I really think he was done with being a wild cat and ready for a new home. And he will find one very soon!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Awwwwww what an adorable kitty! I’m so glad that you managed to find him some help, although it’s surprising that a stray was comfortable enough with you that he went so placidly inside the cat carrier.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. He really does. We adopted a stray and try as we might he just wasn’t one for living in a house and bring tamed. He left us, occasionally I think I see him around ours, but he never liked coming home. I feel sad, like we let him down, the door was always open with food and a bed but he was wild at heart. I hope Boris finds a home he wants to stay in forever. x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Some cats are like that..they are used to living rough and taking chances, poor souls. We had one, a huge black and white tom, who never bothered my cats, but would wait patiently at the bottom of the garden for some food. With cats like that, all you can do is offer food. Boris is only young so I hope he’ll settle 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I am so glad Boris is going to be in a good home. Most of the cats we had when our kids were small were strays that seemed to find their way to our farm. They not only found their way to the farm…they would end up as housecats because our sons kept letting them in.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kids and cats-winning combination. 🙂 Cats are always useful on a farm. I remember when I was.little and I used to go on my dad’s veterinary rounds with him, there were always farm cats,slipping in and out of the shadows after mice and rats.
      I hope Boris has a new home soon, I’m sure he will 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL-yes 🙂 All the “cat” people I know have been involved in re-homing some of the strays round here, but unfortunately females can get pregnant really young and then the whole vicious cycle begins again. So it’s good that people do what they can as they can-it all helps :)x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

