Carnelian and Compassion for Cats

wp_20160407_15_28_02_pro

These cats are breaking my heart… I have a stray cat problem as I am sure I may have mentioned before. With the onset of winter and the colder, wetter weather, I am seeing homeless felines everywhere,

Why? Why do people do this? I will never understand why people take on the responsibility of an animal and then as soon as it grows up or loses its cuteness or does something wrong then the animal is abandoned. I would sooner chop off my own arm than abandon one of my cats – they are family.

Another new face on the stray circuit, a battered looking black and white tom, found refuge in our conservatory on a cold night last week. My partner had to go out and move him on:

I’m sorry, I’m afraid you’ll have to leave. Can’t have you upsetting the ladies.”

All right Guv’nor, all right, just give me a minute to get me things and I’ll be off…”

I don’t want to make light, really of what is, after all, a heart breaking problem, but I just wish these owners would have a little compassion and think what these animals suffer as they are deprived of a home through no fault of their own, and face an uncertain future.

_mg_8508Boris, the stray, in happier times

This is why we must never ignore these charities such as the Cats Protection League, RSPCA and the PDSA, that do such amazing work. These charities, both here and abroad, do such amazing work, like FACE Foundation, with TNR programmes and empty shelter days, where they try and re-home every animal need our support and help.

And it’s not just cats. Dogs too. Animals that we assume responsibility for and then forget as though these little lives mean nothing. I’m not going to turn this into a rant, but I would urge everybody to donate, help, volunteer, foster, adopt, whatever you can.

I have my four girls obviously, but if I could afford it, then that four would probably become fourteen. And I do think it is about time our government addresses various issues that beset our animal population, for example, look again at the Dangerous Dogs Act, implement policies that would regulate the breeding of animals and protect their lives, set aside some funding for a nationwide programme of trap, neuter, return… If we cannot exercise compassion for our animal friends, then how can we hope to extend that to our own species?

_mg_7843

Carnelian, a stone I have not personally experienced although I own several pieces, is a crystal that both stabilises and encourages… It can help you be realistic whilst giving you the energy and motivation to put thoughts into action. My son is fond of this crystal – it is useful in the dramatic arts and can also help cleanse and recharge other crystals, just by being near them.

Carnelian is a very empathetic crystal, it can help to banish fear of the unknown, of death, whilst promoting positive life choices and instilling courage in its wearer.

wp_20160407_15_30_19_pro-2

Linked to the Base chakra, it gives the courage to overcome abuse of any kind and its physical benefits include aiding the absorption of vitamins and helping with depression, back problems and rheumatism.

Carnelian is kind, yet practical. It banishes mental chatter to improve clarity of thought and enhance perception. It removes emotional negativity, protects against other peoples’ negative thoughts and enhance perception. It removes emotional negativity, protects against other peoples’ negative thoughts and promotes a love of life, with all its ups and downs.

Everybody has room for a little piece of Carnelian in their crystal repertoire… everyone has room for a little compassion too.

img_0570

If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.

14th Dalai Lama

32 thoughts on “Carnelian and Compassion for Cats

  1. I am same with you dear Samantha, and I am sad too for them. In here there are so many too. But also so many people feed them and take in side especially during winter days. But yes, they are homeless in fact. The photographs are amazing as always, this Carnelian fascinated me. Thank you, have a nice day, Love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When you find a battered looking stray cat in your conservatory you can also keep him there until you can put him in a cat basket to hand over to either the Cat Protection League or RSPCA (or you can phone them and see if they can collect him). Taking positive action when you can will help more cats off the streets.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In an ideal world that would be the best course of action. In an ideal world the first shelter I rang would be delighted to help. However, living in a large city this was not the case. I was told to “put the cat back where I found him” which was obviously not the best case scenario for my own cats. It was with regret, therefore, I continue to try both city and private shelters in an attempt to find somewhere that can take these cats. In the meantime, there is shelter in a neighbour’s garden who also feeds them.
      In an ideal world there would not be this problem.
      Thank you for commenting xx

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You are very welcome Samantha. When we lived in London with a house full of rescue cats I put the stray cats who kept trying to get into our house in a cat basket and took them on two long bus rides to an RSPCA centre that would take them. It was a long round trip and it was worth it every time because it gave each of these cats a chance of finding a happy forever home.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think we’re quite lucky here-there are some private shelters if anything else fails (and even if they struggle, they always try to help). We’ve never had many strays around where we live (we’ve had a few over the years staying with us for a night or two, but all are now happily reunited with their owners). I can’t stress the importance of helping, in any way…anything is better than nothing 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It is so sad, isn’t it. I can’t help but wonder if we need more regulation for pet ownership. I am not a fan of state interference generally, but no real protection for animals doesn’t work either. Sadly in the past we have contacted the RSPCA regarding a stray and been told they had no officer for the area we lived in so they could not help. I had never heard of that happening before, or since, to be fair.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, better and more stringent regulation for prospective owners would be a start, but not something I can see happening in the near future. I know exactly what you mean about the RSPCA-they do sterling work but there are just too many abandoned and unwanted animals.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes, it is the fault of the owners, not the charities and organisations trying to deal with the situation. I don’t get it though. If someone wants something that is cute but low maintenance, they should get an interactive toy instead of an animal!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s an idea worth adding to your list of policies for when you are in government. A seriously good one…it annoys me too because the charities here actively advertise the fact they do reduced neuterings, but people STILL can’t be bothered..

        Liked by 1 person

  4. You are so right…peeps are strange. Thank goodness there are shelters like the SPCA. I have quit trying to understand why peeps behave in certain ways….it is too discouraging, I just help where I can in my way. We have taken strays to the shelter and then I phone everyday to see how they are. I’m proud to say that the ones we took to the SPCA were adopted after being neutered.

    The crystals look interesting. I used to take the girls for a walk along the Fraser River in the other house and pick up interesting agates. I had one in my change purse for a long time….it was smooth with a streak of quartz through it.

    BTW I went to a Craft Fair today and one of the booths was manned by the peeps that used to run the restaurant that had high tea.. I got Yorkshire tea from them. I was delighted because otherwise I would have to go on-line for it and those shipping prices are ridiculous.

    Jean

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s horribly sad and I wish these people would be more responsible. Still, every little bit of help counts and makes a difference, so thank you for that.
      How lovely being able to walk and find such interesting crystals…the most exciting I found was a little sandstone fossil…
      So pleased you found Yorkshire Tea…I just hope you like it!
      Thank you for your comment and enjoy your …evening? : ) xx

      Like

  5. You have a kind heart my friend. It is sad that this abandonment of pets is also rampant in UK. Truly heartbreaking. I loved the quote you shared by 14th Dalai Lama. Compassion and empathy does not exist here too. I know it as I face my employer daily and wonder why he does not practice his buddhist beliefs. Sigh! Garfield hugs and may we stay strong to face these things.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The stray cat problem is heartbreaking, but it is so easy to cut down on numbers if people will only spay and neuter their cats and keep them indoor-only. Or if they insist on letting them outside, making sure that they always monitor them in the confines of the back yard and never just let them out to wander the neighborhood unattended.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. It’s a sad post, but I’m glad you wrote it. Last month I came as close to a nervous breakdown as an aggressive and hyperactive person can (I don’t normally do ‘nervous breakdowns’). I’ve been working with various shelters/charities for over 20 years, the last seven have been hard because I do something that is generally not appreciated or understood. When people ask me about it, they usually want to know all the gory details (which I refuse to give) or comment: ‘I couldn’t do it, it would give me nightmares’. I have nightmares- but I’m insomniac anyway so I don’t care. The exposure to cruelty and abuse hasn’t made me a worse (or harder or more disillusioned) person – I believe people are mostly good, because for every single abuser there are ten people who try to help.
    I believe the only way to deal with stray cats (or any other abandoned pets) is educating people and implementing laws preventing abuse/abandonment from ever happening. The more we know the more responsible we become.
    Well, that is a long comment…but the topic is very close to my heart. To end on a high note: I love the fact that if I bring home some dirty, flea infested cat (or dog) Hedgehog will give us both a hug, phone the vet, do all that’s needed -and won’t ever question my actions. So if I ever need to restore my faith in humanity I think about my husband 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is so sad Samantha.. Thankfully not a problem that I’ve encountered personally or I’d have a house full of stray cats too… and I’m more of a ‘doggy’ person and have had a few ‘lost/mistreated dogs’ over the years.. You’re husband sounds adorable – thankfully my hubby is also full of ‘compassion’ too… x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 it’s a very emotive subject and very sad to see and unfortunately the city where I live has one of the highest rates of stray animals and very full and overworked shelters and charities. Can only hope that future generations learn xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

