I’VE DONE IT!

wp_20160915_18_45_06_pro

I have stopped smoking! I have now been 16 days smoke-free and I’m not going to lie… it’s been difficult! I must thank everyone who has wished me well and good luck – I’ve certainly needed it – and I must also mention Hayley Lucas and thank her for her blog Quit Smoking full of useful facts, help and support.

I hope I stay stopped, since theoretically I stopped smoking every night when I went to sleep… However, as the nice lady at New Leaf pointed out, never mind a week, or a month at a time – just work towards the next hour of being without a cigarette.

_mg_8033

It’s been a long and torrid love affair, Nicotine and I… I had my first drag when I was actually four, my parents both smoked, as did my older sister, so cigarettes were always readily available. At this point I must both excuse my parents and blame my sister… let us pause and consider the blessing of having an older sibling. I learned at an early age that cherished childhood figures were… myths and what went on in grown up bedrooms was a horror story to my unwary younger ears.

My sister thought it would be amusing to make me carry lit cigarettes from her to her boyfriend in my mouth… My parents were out, I coughed and inhaled and… threw up. That knocked that little party trick on the head. My next brush with cigarettes was at school. An all-girls’ school where I learnt to smoke, drink, and swear like a particularly foul mouthed T.V. chef, picking up a few exam results and more ladylike qualifications such as embroidery and napkin folding along the way… Peer pressure.

Somebody acquired a packet of ten from an older brother (there we are again) and we gathered furtively behind the gym to be daring and adult. Nobody really liked it apart from me.

_mg_8041

And there was born a habit, an addiction that has ruled most of my adult life. It became part of me to such an extent that when some friends and I were playing an association game, and it was my turn to be defined, somebody said I smelled of cigarettes, vodka and perfume. I gave up drinking some years ago. Now cigarettes – I AM NOT GIVING UP MY PERFUME!

I am not romanticising smoking or condoning it – it’s awful, addictive and you will never have any spare money. Just don’t. Just don’t do it. Don’t start, and if you have, then please stop. I did.

_mg_8031

64 thoughts on “I’VE DONE IT!

  1. Oh well done you!! Keep going!! Your story made me ROFL, I’m so glad my boys haven’t reached that age yet… But in a few short years, they will! I can only hope they never really get addicted. You stay strong! 💚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done! And I can relate to it more than you can imagine, even if I stopped smoking about 10 years ago. I still crave the first cigarette in the morning, the pseudo-philosophical conversations at uni that simply wouldn’t be the same without cigarettes (and alcohol). They way we talk about it indicates we both have addictive personality – I try to harness mine by creating ‘good habits’.
    Well, again: congratulations and well done, you’ll notice how much better your life is (tastes, smells) every day 🙂 And you deserve a treat (once a dog trainer, always a dog trainer…) x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! I’ve already noticed my sense of smell is so much better! Yes, I must confess a cigarette and a drink used to go hand in hand down the Student Union…lol! It’s a matter of just finding something else to do, good habits, as you so rightly point out…breathing exercises help! Thank you for reading and your comment :)x (Going to wrestle a rawhide chew off Erin now. ..)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bless you Sam for the mention! So pleased to read that you are now 16 days!!! Free from the slavery of cigarettes. Just keep taking it day by day and you will get to your first month soon 😉

    I hope you are going to treat yourself this weekend, because you deserve it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YAY for you! I’m not a smoker but have known plenty. I am well aware of just how difficult it is to give up, and how much willpower you are calling upon. Use all the fag money to buy yourself something gorgeous that you would normally think too extravagant. You totally deserve a reward. Although I also think wrestling with your mum’s dog is not the best way to go here…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lol! Thank you very much! No, I gave up the wrestle with the dog..the chew was half-eaten anyway…
    This giving-up try has been less stressful actually, compared to other attempts. Pleased to hear you’ve never been a smoker…my oldest son smokes despite my direst threats, but my younger one doesn’t and hopefully never will 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmnn, well, when I hit 30 I had a bit of an early mid life crisis. You know – the one that supposedly makes some men ditch their wife and buy a sports car, and some women take up with the gardener. (To be clear, I did neither of these things!). But I decided to ‘learn’ how to smoke. I probably made my way through 2-3 cigarettes in total and twigged how addictive it was, so quit whilst I still could! BTW – your reply didn’t show up in my Notifications! Aaaaargh!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I have some investigating and button pushing to do…wish me luck. If the internet is broken for ever tomorrow then you know who to blame.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. YEAH! Well done, Samantha. Granny stopped a few years ago after smoking for 45 years being a chain-smoker. She said to herself that she has had it with all that smoke and wanted to get through the other half of her live, without cigarettes and once she quit, she couldn’t bear any kind of alcohol anymore either, so she killed two birds with one stone…If only I was there…MOL 😀 Granny always said to herself, that life doesn’t change with a cigarette, it will be the same as it is, when she thought that she needed a smoke. That helped her. Now we send Extra Healing Pawkisses when you need them and one Extra for a Happy Weekend 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well dear Samantha I had no idea you smoked and because I’m so behind on reading wasn’t
    aware you quit. Kudos to you my friend! I am an ex-smoker as well and like you started young. I won’t bore you with the details of the tricks I employed to help me succeed (all visual and some rather nasty) but it worked as I was smoking nearly 3 PPD! Quit for about 7 years and the day I found out my mother was terminally ill I crossed the street to an apothecary and purchased a pack of ciggys. Needless to say my first drag went to my brain and thought I was going to collapse as I recrossed the street. Had to experiment w/different brands to find the “right” one. Smoked the year that her health deteriorated and quit 6 months after she passed and haven’t gone back. I remember the first time I quit; too funny. For example as I walked through the parking lot to enter a market I would trail someone who wa smoking. Hahahah. Then I stopped and began spending all my free time in smoke free environments like libraries. The second time I quit I didn’t stalk any smokers thankfully. Actually turned into one of the obnoxious ex-smokers that people want to punch.
    On a serious note what many people don’t realize is just how hard it is to quit for our brain’s receptors are as strongly attached to nicotine as the heroine receptor is to opiates. Quitting is therefore a serious challenge for most so congrats are definitely in order. I also agree with the poster way up there who said one day at a time; worked for me.
    Interesting read:http://theoakstreatment.com/drug-addiction/5-hardest-drugs-quit/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The longest I’ve stayed stopped -lol- is 6 weeks, so I’m hoping I can get past it this time. Your relapse over your mother is something I can understand, but you quit again! Such strength and determination 🙂
      So far I’ve been reasonably pleasant to live with, I think, if somewhat reliant on Bachs Rescue Remedy…lol! I’ll check that link later on the laptop ( my phone can’t multitask ) but I’ve always been told that nicotine is one of the hardest..!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

