Harry Potter Spell Tag

Potter 11.jpgThis is Iceland Spar (or Optical Calcite), used in a variety of optical equipment… I wear glasses for reading!

I must thank Chloe Douglas for nominating me for this. It is primarily directed towards Harry Potter fans, as you can see from the tags, however it was fun to do! By the way, I have read all the Harry Potter books…

 

Potter 1

A childhood book connected to good memories.

I was quite ill when I was a child, so my mother taught me to read at a young age. She bought me the whole ‘Chronicles of Narnia’ series which transported me to a different time and world. This is a series that I returned to, even as an adult with the same enjoyment I had as a child, and an adult appreciation of the deeper message.

Potter 2

A book that took you by surprise

The Murder Bag’ by Tony Parsons. Totally hooked on this author! Well-constructed plot, detailed, convincing… It’s a police/crime/thriller book and not my usual fare.

Potter 3

The last book you read.

The Good Girl’ by Fiona Neill. Hmm. Quite enjoyed it, although I found the character of the mother unlikeable and if there is a character that is taking up a lot of page space, I do like to find something just plain ol’ nice about them… still worthwhile reading though.

Potter 4

A book that introduced you to a genre you hadn’t considered before.

The Martian’ by Andy Weir. I don’t know whether it could be strictly called Science Fiction, but I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it totally believable and compelling.

Potter 5

A funny book you’ve read.

The first funny book I ever read was ‘It Shouldn’t Happen to a Vet’ by James Herriot. My father was a vet, so I had a prior interest in it anyway, but I love James Herriot’s style of recounting his adventures in the Yorkshire Dales.

Potter 6

A book you think everyone should know about.

‘Ferney’ by James Long. This is a beautiful bittersweet story of an endless love… Beautifully written, emotion-filled, gripping story… what more can I say? Just read it!

Potter 14.jpg

 

Potter 7

A book or spoiler you would like to forget having read.

Alleigant’ by Veronica Roth. Sometimes I like Y.A. fiction. First two – brilliant. Last one – wish I hadn’t bothered.

Potter 13.pngCharlie obviously found this quite gripping!

Potter 8

A book you had to read for school.

Emma’ by Jane Austen. I first did this in school when I was about twelve and it was my first introduction to Classic Literature. I loved each delicately constructed sentence and carefully placed comma, the sly, but gentle humour and – of course – the ending. One book I would (and have) quite happily read for pleasure again and again.

Potter 9

A book that was painful to read.

The Time Traveler’s Wife’ by Audrey Niffenegger. I loved the film, but unfortunately I found the book had no ‘flow’ and the jumping back and forth was irritating rather than helpful to the plot.

Potter 12.jpg“Personally I didn’t think much of that one.”

Potter 10

A book that could kill (interpret as you will).

War and Peace’ by Leo Tolstoy. I went through a phase of reading Russian Classic Literature when I was an angst-ridden teenager. I read ‘War and Peace’ – it nearly killed me as indeed the physical book would if applied with sufficient force to someone’s head. It’s a big book…

I hope you enjoyed reading!

My nominees are:

In The Autumn Of My Life

Me:V

Wendy

…And, of course, anyone else who would like to have a go! Thank you as always for reading.

58 thoughts on “Harry Potter Spell Tag

      1. Well I did think it was a good book and a fascinating idea… But very confusing! And depressing. I don’t like books that depress me. I mean why couldn’t he have found a way to use his special ability for something positive? Instead of it being a terrible burden? Anyway not something I would read again. Now Harry Potter! I lost count of the number of times I’ve reread it! 😀

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Thanks so much for the nomination which I accept.. with a bit of trepidation as I’ve not read a SINGLE Harry Potter Book..yikes that’s bad isn’t it!!!! I have watched a couple of the films – does that count? xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ps – I was so distracted by the nomination and feeling guilty for not having done enough reading over recent years that I forgot to say… Great reminders of some fab books that I’ve read in the past too. Emma – I had to do that at school to for my English Literature O’level which I absolutely loved. I need to read some Jane Austin and am going to add this to my reading list for camping trip next week! Also – the James Herriot series – I loved those books – I’d completely forgotten about them until your fab reminder. I was never brave enough to tackle War and Peace though – that’s pretty impressive! xx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It reminds me of the hot summer of 1976 which is when I took my exams and then had a lovely long summer off.. see what great memories you’ve inspired with your post – thanks! xx

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Wendy! Another James Herriot fan here! I started reading his books when I found a few in the school library under Humour and have been a fan for decades since! I don’t often come across anyone else who mentions him. Did you read his autobiography? I have some of the TV series boxsets too…lol, gosh it’s like coming out of the closet haha

      Liked by 2 people

      1. hahah – hilarious – I used to be an avid fan of the TV series – It was a weekly – must watch! To be honest though over the years, I’d forgotten about it until the reminder from Samantha – I didn’t know they did ‘box sets’ so this may well be one for my Xmas list.. hehe! Oh no – We (me in particular) are showing our age!!

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Emma (or anything by Jane Austen) was wonderful, of course, but for me, Pride and Prejudice reigns! And, naturally, the 1995 mini-series. Colin Firth – and the scene in the Rosings Park drawing room when Darcy looks lovingly and longingly at Lizzie. Someone fetch my smelling salts!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very interesting. I too am an avid reader or was…I’m more into cat books lately but occasionally I ventured out and read some mystery and thriller stories. I did my reading of political ideology books about 20 years ago. I must admit I still have a special place in my heart for American politics. So much more entertaining than Canadian politics.

    Jean

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

