Amethyst and Active Cats

WP_20150731_12_59_43_Pro

Amethyst is a commonly found crystal and as such is often used in jewellery, which is useful, considering it is most beneficial when worn over the throat. Amethyst is my second go-to crystal, as it is highly protective and will both absorb and deflect negative energy. It is a clarifying stone and can help with making decisions, awakening common sense. Its name derives from the Greek word ‘amethustos’, meaning sober – supposedly the wearer of Amethyst is protected against inebrity and if you drink from an Amethyst vessel you will never become drunk… not going to try that one.

_MG_7641 (3)

Amethyst is a good stone for focus and concentration as it calms the mind whilst helping you concentrate, thus balancing the highs and lows of emotion to find the steady middle. From this centre, Amethyst can be used in dealing with loss, dissipating anger and encouraging selflessness, opening the doors to spiritual wisdom as it is linked to the Third Eye chakra. Ultimately, Amethyst deals with energy, drawing off the negative and employing positive energy for the benefit of mind, body and spirit.

_MG_7647 (3)

Cats are renowned for their ability to sleep and conserve their energy for short bursts of activity, perhaps a remnant from their wild history, where hunting for prey was of paramount importance. Thus, with food uncertain and the finding of it often long and wearisome, any cat’s instinct, from the domestic feline to their larger cousins, the lions, is to sleep and recharge…

Moments of activity and play are wonderful to watch and participate in, I admire my cats’ elegance and grace as they twist and leap lithely with balletic charm, every inch of furry body alight with positive energy.

I would just like to say thank you to Xenia of Whippet Wisdom for inspiring this post and encouraging my son to pursue the action shot. Thanks also to my son’s mentor and friend for his patient instruction on the technique…

49 thoughts on “Amethyst and Active Cats

      1. The uses of catnip mousies are many and varied. However, should my son choose to become a wildlife photographer, I will not be dancing across the plains of the Serengeti clutching a joint of wildebeest so he can achieve the perfect shot of a lion…!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s absolutely up to you, to wear it will keep you protected all day long, but some stones or a cluster on a desk would be really good for promoting a calm and happy environment… personally I wear it while my uses the clusters. Either way it’s a lovely protective stone great for absorbing negativity, so experiment and see what works best for you :)x

        Like

  1. Oh Samantha, it is so lovely to see the cats ‘in motion’ and well done your son for taking these action shots. It really brings your girls alive on your blog. We can now see their playful nature and the ‘huntress witin’! :o) Thank you so much for doing this and I look forward to seeing more! Have a wonderful rest of the day and much love to all of you xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol! So pleased you liked them! Thank you for the encouragement too as my son is loving the new technique! I just have to persuade the other cats to run after me rather than just watching me with a puzzled look on their faces! Hopefully we will capture some more 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your day, and thank you, as always, for reading and commenting : )xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This is so much fun! Don’t try to persuade your cats to run after you for a photograph as they cannot be ‘fooled’. Be genuine, play for the fun of it as if there is no camera and enjoy! :o) Much love to you all xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great action shots! I love amethyst and found out that the Roman Catholic pope wears it too or it is a stone embedded in Catholic prayer items. It is also a stone for Doctors to keep and or wear. *I hope I got this right*😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s interesting to know, I’m sure I read something about why…and yes, Amethyst is good for drawing off the negativity of illness and also promotes intuition,useful in the medical profession. Thank you for reading and commenting
      : )xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amethyst…your points about not becoming drunk whilst drinking from a vessel derived from this stone are most intriguing…as are the ones about negativity reduction and concentration. Maybe I should put some on my writing desk?? Improved decision making too…why did you not point me at this post before??? 😱

    Lovely shots of your feline friend too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, sorry! Better late than never! Also I must confess when I’m writing, I do find Moss Agate useful… it helps to unleash the creativity within… definitely put some amethyst on your desk as it is a useful crystal for focus. Thank you, pleased you like the cat photos, they took a little running around! Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Late in my case is often because there is so much going on it overwhelms and my head blows up!!! I need a proper work space now too so that’s another ponderance to ponder on top lol. I shall try this amethyst trick too. I have a couple of paranormal brothers in a spot of bother that could have a bad outcome 😱
        Question, how many pictures did you need to take in order to get the ones you posted? I have to take what feels like millions !!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. !!!!Bad outcome!!!! I am sending positive thoughts your way 🙂
        My son takes all the photos for my blog-I’m a bit rubbish-and he tells me that on average he takes about 5 or 6, depending on light, etc. Also with the action shots, he uses a particular setting on his Canon 5D so it takes “multi-shots” and then he puts it on AI Servo…keep shooting and following the subject. For the ones of Ting he took about 180 in total to get the ones we posted, as this was a new technique he was trying…I tend to just point, click and hope..lol!:)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I need them!! Running about like a headless chicken getting school gear ready for next week. Not enough time in the day at present to do anything !!
        I’m with you, point click and hope. Mind you art is not my thing…I admire those that can, but my abilities there are just BLAH. Although….maybe if I learned more about photoshop 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Only one is still in uniform now. Although kitting elder out might be more expensive!! Shoes tomorrow so fascinating excursion with two reluctant shoppers in the morning….calming stones required! Still, almost sorted now. After they go back next week I might just have to write some new material 👻

        Liked by 1 person

      5. All is good…shopping went better than anticipated, so very calm there!! Did you read The Bequest exercpt and the prediction of a certain Joe Stringer who forecasts the death of the third brother who, you nay have noticed, is not in this series at all???

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Yes, I just went back to check because I thought I’d left a comment at the time…yes, I like Joe Stringer. He’s very vivid and immediate…and yes I noticed the absence of Conrad! Where is he?? I also got sidetracked by your “Aquatic Ramblings”-some great imagery..:)

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Oh yes, we did chat about Joe. Amnesia….got any stones for that? 🤕
        The third brother is awaiting his chapter in that project. Alas his future is grim. The aquatic ramblings was an experiment in memoir writing. I always wanted to do a piscatorial anthology !

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Lol! Clear calcite for memory, clear quartz for storage, tigers eye for strengthening the memory process and deploying information effectively..how’s that!
        I am awaiting your next post eagerly..and searching for a crystal that will give authors compassion to brothers..!

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Good grief, how am I to remember all that without any calcite about !!! I must research this subject deeper. I’m just finalising two posts for the Millionaires Digest magazine and then it’s onto the final part of what’s written about said duo, formerly trio !!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the post and the photos! Cats are (obviously) much more beautiful than stones, but I must admit the photos of amethyst are stunning. I’ll have a look if I can get some earrings or something.The stones were probably posing and trying hard to look good, while the cats were just naturally perfect 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well this is it-as you say, cats just don’t have to try to be beautiful they simply are..My girls already have supermodel attitudes! I don’t know if you wear necklaces, but you can get little spiral cages that will take tumblestones, that you can wear on a cord or a chain and change according to need. I’ll have to get Alex to take a photo and include it in a post so you can see-my description seems somewhat garbled! Thank you for reading and commenting x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

