Dalmationite and Dogs

For Alex…

My family’s dogs were a big part of my life when I was a little girl. I learned to stand, clutching fistfuls of fur and hauling myself upright against our German Shepherd Nikki, who bore my maulings good naturedly. I created miniature worlds between his paws as I sat and played, marching little animals across his shoulders… He also taught me my first adult lessons in grief… Returning home from school to find him gone, it broke my heart, but I thank him for his gentle love and guidance. In comparison to myself, my mother has always been a ‘dog person’. I am primarily a ‘cat person’ but I love dogs too and have had a couple who have co-existed happily alongside my various cats.

EPSON MFP image

Rosie was another notable character from my mother’s succession of dogs… my first sister dog, she taught my older son how to treat a dog. She would tolerate no nonsense, yet was loving and kind. When my younger son was born, I laid him at her paws. She sniffed him delicately, sensitive nose reading all the nuances of this new little person I had brought to her for inspection. Then she gave me a look as if to say:

Another one! Don’t you think I’ve done my duty?” However, she went on to become an adored auntie dog, to hug at the end of a hard school day and receive comfort and understanding from her wise brown eyes.

My older son was quite offended on one – he went towards his little brother, intending a play fight… he never reached him, as Rosie stood and pushed herself in front of my younger son. She bared her teeth – just slightly, but the message was clear:

Hey! We’ll have none of that here!”

She grew older as my son moved from toddlerhood into a little boy – he learned the same lesson I did at about the same age, our beloved animals never live as long as we want them to, but our lives are the better for having known them, and learned their lessons of love and loyalty that they have to teach.

EPSON MFP image

Next was Rowan, beautiful and golden. She took more to my older son, but had plenty of time to spend with my younger son. I watched them both, once, outside at my mother’s as my son drew complicated chalk pictures and explained them to her. She watched, fascinated, her ears twitching to the enthusiasm in his voice and eyes following every line of the chalk.

Good natured and loving, she also had a congenital heart defect that my mother was unaware of until it was too late. My son and I stood outside the vets while my mother said her goodbyes. As I comforted him, a tiny white feather floated down from the sky to land at our feet. I had my words:

Rowan was such a good dog, God could only lend her to us for a little while, then He needed her back. She’s left you a feather from her angel wings.” My son still has it.

Rowan 2

Now my mother has Erin, paler than the traditional Shepherd colours of black and tan – her father was white – show quality, but really just our little girl. She’s the most vocal dog Mum’s had, and can say things like “Horrible”, “Hungry” and “Harare”. Perhaps she’d like to visit. She’s loving, affectionate and trusting, my mother’s constant companion – I’d worry about her a lot more if she didn’t have a dog. Erin has one particular game that I find reasonably amusing… she shows me she’d like her toybox moving so she can look into it. Then I have to get her toys out, one by one, and show them to her. She’ll prod them with her nose and that’s a sign to put that one away. When I happen to choose the one she wants, she’ll grab it and run off… sounds quite tedious but the dog enjoys it! Another favourite is to chase my younger son around the garden, leaping and grabbing and SQUEEZING his bottom with her teeth to produce a scream…

IMG_5462.JPG

All these canine family members had, and have, love, loyalty, trust and an innocent sheer joy of life… Dalmationite helps you live in the moment, rather like a dog, encouraging you to enjoy this present incarnation and connecting to the base and sacral chakras. It is both protective and sensitive, a guard dog for the spirit, as it will enhance your awareness of danger but help you to remain calm and deal with it.

IMG_6222 (2)The black spots are Tourmaline – skulls don’t have to be scary, they are actually quite  a powerful symbol of new life and knowledge

A typical interpretation of this stone is that it can help you attune to the innocent child within, strengthening your sense of fun, helping to dissolve depression and restoring energy. Dalmationite can stop you from overthinking and help you get out there and just do it… At the same time, instilling awareness and the ability to plan for every eventuality. A good stone for children – what child doesn’t love puppies! – it encourages fidelity and stabilises emotions and can help you release the desire for revenge that could be potentially harmful to yourself. It’s another good stone to use for animals, enhancing the link between Mother Earth and her children.

I think we could learn a lot from our canine family, their unquestioning love and trust in us should be repaid in our care and love for them. Their ability for love and joy in life is one that we would do well to adopt ourselves… dogs just get along.

Walkies anyone?

_MG_6279“Hey! It’s good for all animals you know!”

60 thoughts on “Dalmationite and Dogs

  1. What a great post ! I have had to dogs in my life George an English bull terrier and Winston a bulldog they were like my kids ! I adore dogs !! One day I may get another ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ta (stuffing virtual tissue in virtual pocket) (no, wait, I have a real pocket) (how come? When did I become six years old again? What grown woman has pockets in her dress?) (well, me, clearly) (oh look, a sweet…mmmn…pocket fluff…)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am lost without pockets as I have an assortment of pocket junk I like to carry in addition to a rather large handbag..let me see..tissues(obviously) sweet stuck to tissue, spare lighter, rose quartz, pyrite, amethyst, lepidolite and an unidentifiable tablet…oh no, I know what it is…I forgot to give Lily her Milbemax..!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Nikki, Rosie, Rowan and Erin they are all beautiful.. when we had our own home, there really is a need to have a big dog not only as a companion but also for protection.. since most of the times my husband (now my ex) works overseas and me almost always alone in the house since the kids are all in school GS is the best choice not only for its size but also because of its loyalty and really a true protector yet gentle when they need to be gentle..i do not want to be biased with other big breeds but there are some that becomes forgetful (sort of like dementia) as they grow old.. but a GS dog never forgets..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GSD’s are thinking dogs, you can see the thought processes clicking behind their eyes. Mum’s dogs have all been devoted to her, and apparently they also have the loudest recorded bark, I think it’s about 108 decibels.. It’s certainly one of the big breeds I am most familiar with and used to being around. My own little dog was a terrier/collie cross but I loved her dearly, so although now I am primarily a “cat” person, I am grateful to our dogs, they enrich our lives in so many ways…Thank you for reading and your lovely comment xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry for the delay in replying…just run round grabbed the cats, flicked tablets down their throats-there is an art to it- although my son was a little surprised when I rugby tackled him to the floor, stuck my thumb in his mouth and turned it so his jaw opened and flicked a tablet down his throat…better safe than sorry!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Phew! But, there is the tiniest possibility son might object to jumping on the scales at the vets?? If so you may need to cajole him into a basket or carrier first. Hope nobody from social services needs to visit the vet that day. Otherwise, I think your work is done!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok. We are new friends,. Will check it out. (Imagine noise of door closing, running down a corridor and frantic rifling through tomes)….I’ll be back…

        Liked by 1 person

  4. What a beautiful writing and sharing dear Samantha, and of course beautiful tribute for your dogs too. Especially, when the angel feather came down with her winged message, impressed me so much. Thank you, have a nice new week, Love, nia (beautiful photographs, I love your cat)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Found it! You were way ahead of me. Can’t see anything wrong with those parenting skills. Except maybe it should have been a low calorie biscuit…?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So touching Samantha!
    Was just telling one of my relatives how she’s missing a lot not having a dog. Honey, our cocker spaniel taught me great life lessons..
    First time to know this about skulls..though having clothes and rings with skulls that I love wearing.. Now I have a good reason 🙂
    Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. oh, I really loved it-it’s one of the ones I’ll re-read. I find it interesting that my emotional reactions almost stop me from really getting into the text. I like this ‘first reading’ because it’s reading with my heart, but I tend to go back later to check if I can see something more, beyond emotions. Well, I do like your posts! (yes, I know I’ve said it before) x

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I do like the skull. I don’t own one as I am still waiting for one to find me…some of them don’t look real enough for my taste. This one of yours looks really great! Skulls keep coming up for me lately, I might need to go and have a browse again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My son has a beautiful fluorite one, and I think you’re right.. you have to wait for these sorts of things to call to you. They are such powerful symbols. .I’ve never been drawn to them myself, but I can admire the beauty of the crystal and its carving. I don’t care for the “alien” skulls..a “trying too hard” sort of vibe..Lizian has some beautiful examples. I might do a post…

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Lovely post – I’ve had dogs in my own life since I was 6 – prior to that I dragged a fury toy Koala bear around with a dog collar and lead – my mum was adamant she wouldn’t have a dog but my dad disregarded her (oops) and bought me one for my birthday… After that my mum was never without a dog until a few weeks before she died – the strange thing was that her dog which was only 8 died just before she did and I’m sure they’re together again now.. Thanks so much for inspiring this memory! x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A beautiful post about your doggies. Granny had a doggie and a cat and they both mirrored her purrsonality as I do now. The first thing she remembered when she saw your families doggies, she was a little child of about four years old, that a sheepdog bit in her nose, but in spite of that, she never lost faith in doggies or any kind of animal. The dalmatier stone is lovely, it looks like a doggie itself. Good comparisson again. Pawkisses for a wonderful day 🙂 ❤

    Like

  10. What a post! I’ve never been a dog person, even though my Dad is a Vet Doctor and often brought some home when he used to actively practice. I never really liked them, except for the new born puppies who always looked harmless and vulnerable. But your post has surprisingly changed my view of them; from just mere animals who love to constitute a nuisance and occupy space meant for humans, to beings who have feelings and deserve as much love as we ourselves would want to be shown. Thanks Samantha. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

