Tiger Iron and Tails

Tails 7.jpg

Every living creature at some point in its evolution had a tail, and although humans have since disposed of theirs in the Darwin dustbin of “no longer needed”, when it comes to the Animal Kingdom, tails remain a useful indicator of how an animal is feeling and a barometer of its moods. My mother’s dog, Erin, has a splendid furred tail, and she has the endearing habit of wagging it if you wave at her. She obviously feels sorry for us lacking this handy appendage, but humours us by “waving” back.

Tails 3.jpgErin’s splendid furry tail

I have four cats and it is a constant source of amusement to watch how they use their tails. All my girls raise their tails in greeting to me:

Hi, where have you been? Where’s the food?”

and although Ting has the classic Siamese kink in her tail, the message is the same.

Tails 2.jpgSiamese kinky tail

Tooty is funny to watch as she hunts flies on the lawn, crouched parallel to the floor, tail straight out behind her, level with the line of her back as she does the sideways shimmy in preparation for a pounce.

tails-4Little short stumpy Tooty tail

Lily has the longest tail at 11 ½ inches, and as a small cat, she always has to carry it slightly raised to avoid tripping on it, a little like a clumsy Victorian lady neglecting to hold her skirts securely. At rest, she curls it right around her and buries her face in it, and whilst sitting upright, it is elegantly coiled around her feet, as she poses Egyptian queen-style.

Tails 1.jpg

Egyptian Queen

Charlie has possibly the most expressive tail of any cat I’ve owned. For all her grace and ladylike qualities, it is a little short…although I would never dare tell her so! However, it may be small, but it is perfectly formed, as befits a feline princess. A rich chocolate brown with shades of chestnut, at regular intervals there are striking bands of delicate mouse grey, broader on the outside but tapering underneath, so the whole effect is of a series of crescent moons running along its length, all finished off with a perfect twist of fur.

Tails 5.jpgTabby tiger tail

When Charlie is grooming, I sometimes like to think I’m helping her by holding the last couple of inches of her tail and offering it to her for cleaning. She licks it angrily, sometimes putting a paw on my hand for emphasis:

Wretched thing! It’ll never stay STILL long enough!”

It will wave gently, as she purrs herself to sleep, or thrash in annoyance as she chitters in frustration at rude sparrows. Or, most alarming, it can be fluffed out to what seems at least four times its size and used to terrify…

I was returning from the shops one day, when a little dog fell in behind me. It seemed cheerful and pleasant enough, but apart from a check to make sure it wasn’t going to leap at my throat and bite me, I largely ignored it and carried on home. As I approached our gate, Charlie came out to meet me, but upon seeing this little dog, the most extraordinary transformation took place…A low, vibrating growl emanated from her. The little dog stopped, its head on one side. She raised herself as tall as she could and fluffed out her fur. The little dog wagged its tail doubtfully, and took a step backwards. Charlie’s tail assumed monstrous bottle brush proportions and she charged at the little dog, whose nerve, completely broken, turned tail and ran away, yelping in fear as my little cat shot after it.

Having seen it off, she came sauntering back to me with an air of “Well, if you will bring these strange things back…” as her fur slowly deflated. I did, later, find out that the little dog belonged to someone up the road who had temporarily taken their eye off him:

Oooh, ‘e were only gone for a minute, came back in ever such a state ‘e did, won’t go out in the garden now to do ‘is business unless I’m wiv ‘im and you oughter see ‘im run when ‘e sees a cat..”

So then. A positive lesson learned as a result of direct action, rather like the metaphysical abilities of Tiger Iron. This is a lovely, positive combination stone of Jasper, Hematite and Tiger’s Eye. I have one particular piece that matches Charlie’s colouring perfectly, a blend of gold, chocolate and silver.

Tails 6.jpgGolden Tiger Iron

My initial piece, courtesy of my son and his crystal lady, Lizian, has more red Jasper in it, and I only discovered how helpful it can be by accident. In a rush, one morning, my hand hovered above my crystal shelf, and without properly looking, I seized Tiger Iron and Pyrite and stuffed them into my pocket. Off I went, and not a twinge from my hip all day. It was only later I discovered my mistake and my Tiger Iron practically purred with satisfaction as it demonstrated its worth.

Tails 9.jpgThese stones are redder because of more Red Jasper inclusions…

A typical interpretation of this stone is that it stimulates impulses and banishes stagnation, lending emotional endurance to any endeavour. Tiger Iron clarifies thought to encourage quick and determined action, heightening vitality and helping with tiredness. As a combination stone of Jasper, Hematite and Tiger’s Eye, it combines all of their useful qualities into one positive stone to promote change and supply energy. It gives the wearer space to think and then it will supply the simplest solution. An artistic stone, it will bring out hidden talents and can also be helpful in healing the hips and lower limbs. If possible, wear it so it touches your skin at all times.

Tails 8.jpgDo you see the shadow paw print?

I rattle with stones in my pockets and around my neck, but what I wear and carry is a useful indication of my mood, since I no longer have a tail… 

All photos were taken by my son!

33 thoughts on “Tiger Iron and Tails

  1. Tiger Eye is another stone I’ve always been attracted to, but I wasn’t aware of the reasons for its variety of color. I’ll have to try carrying them instead of just displaying them.

    I’m glad I have no tail, but it would have saved me a year of pain if I had no vestigial tail bone, either.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Even having the stones on display will let them give off beneficial “vibes”… you have my sympathy, I fell over,right on my coccyx (ahem!) Didn’t half hurt… Thank you for reading and commenting!

    Like

  3. You like a comment I made somewhere and per my ambitions of meeting people here I am…..vestigial tails and stones….I particularly like the stones idea…carry them round as a totem donating positive energy…I may try this 🤔

    You have a new blog follower now..hope you don’t mind 😊

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Excellent and you are quite right. Everyone I’ve met thus far has been engaging, nice and really helpful. For years I looked at blogging and thought what’s that all about…joined in January and had something of an epiphany…it’s amazing 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I started about March, my younger son encouraged me to start a blog, and I actually really enjoy it as I was a little hesitant at first. However, as you say, everyone is really nice! Thank you for stopping by and your comments : )

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Good for him! I prevaricates all through December about blogging…what do I know, nobody will read it, people would not want to know me..you name it I had an excuse….bit the bullet in January and never looked back….yes…I know…should have done it ages ago..but hey, we are here now yes 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Kids are like that….it’s as adults we seem to get more fixed in the trying…not sure why or when that exuberance of vitality changes 🤔 However, I’m now up for getting it back now !!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. It does a bit…but probably, in my case, I didn’t catch it happening…or…I’m cynical too…still, I’ve found a really cool community here and that’s something worth while methinks 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooh I must wish you Birthday blessings in advance. 🎂🎁🎈and 💵💴💶💷💸💰💲for your diamond! I am sure your son will buy you one once he has saved up enough for it😊

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved this post! First of all, your cats (and their tails!) are beautiful. Second, that’s a hilarious and adorable story. I’m sure Charlie didn’t look adorable all fluffed up, but it kind of seemed like she was trying to protect you from the little dog and that’s sweet. 😊 Also, my cat holds her tail flat on her back with just the tip curled…just like a squirrel!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

